Still Here

Sorry I haven’t been around for a while. Life got in the way, I suppose. Or I didn’t have much to talk about. Well, that’s not true. You know me, I always have something to talk about. But here I am and I was thinking of what’s coming up — the holidays, the new year, winter, and — my 40th birthday.   Last year when my sister turned 40 she had a list of things she wanted to do before then and she did a lot of them.  I was thinking of doing the same thing on a micro-level because I am only 2 months away from the big day.

I guess for some people 40 is traumatic, a reminder of what they haven’t done, what they’ll never do, how much time they don’t have left any more. I’m fortunate enough to not have friends like that. The friends I’m turning 40 with seem to be embracing it as a milestone worth celebrating: look how much we’ve done, look how long we’ve been friends, look how much we have the chance still to do.  We’re all happy to be where we are. We’re all happy to be here.

And when I think back on these friends – or people I know who are already 40 – or people who are way under 40- I start think about the impact their lives have had on mine and on others. Think how many lives  a parent, for example, touches, directly and indirectly.  Think about how many millions of people are saddened to lose Nelson Mandela even though they never met him and never lived in South Africa. Think how many kids the average teacher or coach impacts. Think about all the people you’ve met in life – your 40 years or less or more- and the interactions you had. All those ripples in the water.  Chaos theory.

That being said, I’m not going to make a list of 40 things I want to do before I turn 40– I just thought I’d mention this to get back into the swing of blogging.

Life’s a gift, people.  Life’s a gift.

 

tn2_its_a_wonderful_life_1

One thought on “Still Here

  1. Well said….after 39 years and 4 days being 40, I feel like I finally have my act together and am looking forward to more years to come!!

Leave a Reply

