Beth’s First Stand

They say if you don’t stand for something, you’ll fall for anything.

I’ve always thought that was a sort of dumb Fred Thompson-style expression connecting two unrelated ideas.

Standing for something is when you act out of your convictions. Falling for anything is when people sucker you into things. And a person can easily not follow  any particular ethical code or belief system and still have her wits about  and be just fine in her own bubble world.  Apathetic people aren’t necessarily suckers, are they?  They’re just apathetic. On the other hand, a lot of really devoted followers of many things are completely misled on a daily basis.

So forget that expression.

I want to share another expression, one I have been thinking lately of that resonates with me a great deal:   if you don’t stand up for something you believe in when it counts, you’re a big wimp and you should be ashamed of yourself. 

diary wimpy kid

On the pages of this blog and in other aspects of my life, I think Ive been eager to be one of those people who “just puts the information out there”  and “tries to find common ground through civil discourse.”   Whatever, whatever.  Really,  85% of the time, that’s probably the right thing to do and the right way to be.

The other 15% of the time, though, the right thing to do is to stand up and defend a side,  and the right way to be is well, not a coward afraid of offending people.  “Comfort the afflicted, afflict the comfortable,”  as another saying goes.

I think honest writing can still be respectful and open-minded. I think it has to be, in fact. I just think that honesty is as important as being respectful and open-minded. From here forward, I am going to try better to hold up that part of the deal.

Thanks for reading,

Beth

If-You-See-Something

4 thoughts on “Beth’s First Stand

  1. Thanks and thanks for reading! Get back in it, too! return the Hollow!! With Jon gone, the world needs us! The blog avengers!

  2. My principal has a sign in his office that says “Sometimes the right thing to do is the hardest thing to do.” I thought I’d share.

Leave a Reply

